Each year Kansas businesses send me the names of people with bank accounts, wages, stocks and dividends that have been abandoned. As State Treasurer, it is my job to reunite those people with their unclaimed financial assets. I use our website, in addition to many other initiatives, to bring the unclaimed property program directly to the people of Kansas.
Click on the Unclaimed property search button, type in your first and last name. You must read and agree to the property search disclaimer and click the GO button. If there is property matching your search criteria a list of possible matches will display. Go through the list and select any that you are claiming. This will place the requested properties in your cart. Click on the cart and follow the process from there.
Most properties are provided with a reported address and/or SSN. Do you live or did you once live at the reported address? If you did not, the property is mostly likely not yours. If no identifying information is available the claimant will be instructed to mail documentation to determine ownership.
Scroll to the top of the page and click on the cart and follow the process from there.
If your claim was generated successfully an email was sent notifying you of the status.
File a Claim
Please only use this process if you feel that you can claim these properties. This first step is paperless. The claim forms will be sent to your email address as a PDF attachment.
Only one confirmation email is sent to eliminate excessive notifications.
Not always, one claim form is usually sufficient unless the property value is over $2000 (must be notarized) including the value of stock or items in a safe deposit box deemed valuable. If additional properties are identified as yours that require a separate claim form you will be notified.
No, mail the completed forms to Unclaimed Property, 900 SW Jackson, Suite 201, Topeka, KS 66612.
According to Kansas Statute (K.S.A. 58-3957), we must process claims within 90 days, once all documentation is received/approved. If we have all documentation to approve your online claim it could take up 2 weeks for a check to be mailed. A paper claim form mailed into our office is processed by date order. Once approved, the payment could take up to 2 weeks to be made.
Yes, although a claim for a deceased owner cannot be processed online. We need additional documentation in order to determine heirship. You may request the claim packet and it will be emailed to you. If you are unable to print the packet give our office a call at 785.296.4165.
No, one is sufficient.
In most cases, one is sufficient for a deceased property owner. Additional Affidavit of Heirship forms may be needed for any heirs that are deceased. Call our office at 785-296-4165 if you have questions and a Claims Services Representative will assist you with the claim process.
The State Treasurer’s office does not have access to the Setoff files. You will need to contact their office at 785-296-4628.
We don’t provide or sell our unclaimed property database.
There is no time limit on claiming the funds and will always be available for the owner or heir(s) of the owner to claim. However, stock properties must be liquidated within 6 months and the proceeds are applied to the property for the owner or heir. Safe deposit box contents are sold within 3 years and proceeds from the sale are applied to the owner’s property.
The property remains on the database and the money will remain in the state general fund in perpetuity. The funds never revert to the State.
You may donate the money once you claim it from our office.
Click on the Contact Us for more information.