Treasurers Seal
TOPEKA, KS 66612-1235
Lynn W. Rogers
PHONE: 785-296-3171
FAX: 785-296-7950

For Immediate Release:

May 7, 2021

State Treasurer’s Office Announces Winners of Teacher Appreciation Week $15,000 Giveaway


TOPEKA—Kansas State Treasurer Lynn Rogers this week announced the winners of the Teacher Appreciation Week giveaway promotion. The office awarded fifteen, $1000 awards to teachers across Kansas. Last week, Kansans submitted a total of 4,585 teachers for nomination.


"Teachers deserve to be thanked and celebrated every year, but this year -- after facing isolation, technological shortcomings, and a shared exhaustion -- we wanted to do something more to show our appreciation," said Kansas State Treasurer Lynn Rogers. "Teachers at all levels and in all roles worked tirelessly and consistently in supporting their students, and this was the best way we knew how to give back to them.”


Below are the Kansas teachers who were awarded for Teacher Appreciation Week

·         Deborah Wurfel, Ottawa High School

·         Regan Jones, Shawnee Heights High school

·         Lynne Justice, Christ the King Elementary School

·         Amy Alfrey, Linn Elementary School

·         Debra Evans, Fredonia Junior High School

·         Megan Daniels, Timber Sage Elementary School

·         Patricia Winkler, Hocker Grove Elementary School

·         Lolita Repp, Haysville Middle School

·         Jill Frye, Maize South Middle School

·         Tanya Hite, Abilene Middle School

·         Mandi Mitchell, MacArthur Middle School

·         Scott Taylor, Goessel USD 411

·         Heather Meyer, Trinity Lutheran School

·         Cindy Tracy, Wellington Middle School

·         Lori Landwehr, Linwood Elementary School


Award winners were chosen at random using a randomizer website. They have a choice to receive a scholarship or a contribution to a new or existing 529 Savings Plan. These awards were made possible by a partnership with Learning Quest 529 Savings Programs. No purchase was necessary. No taxpayer dollars were contributed to this award fund.